Levitt & Levitt | Because Experience Counts
Levitt & Levitt | Because Experience Counts
Serving Tennessee and Northern Georgia
Photo of Lloyd A. Levitt and Martin J. Levitt
Premier Representation For Criminal Defense And Personal Injury

Levels of felony classifications in Tennessee

On Behalf of | Feb 3, 2017 | Drug Charges

If you have been arrested for suspected involvement in a crime in Tennessee, you will need to understand the charges that are made against you. Each specific charge or charges that you face carries with it a specific set of penalties or parameters for penalties. Felonies are more serious offenses than misdemeanors but all felonies are not the same.

There are actually five different levels of felony charges in Tennessee according to the State of Tennessee Administrative Office of the Courts. Felonies are graded by Class. By either Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D or Class E. Class A offenses are the most serious of all while Class E felonies are the least serious of all felonies. A Class E felony charge is still, however, more grave than a misdemeanor charge. Sometimes the difference between one class and another may seem relatively minor but the outcome of each charge may be more substantial.

Examples of Class A charges include murder and aggravated vehicular homicide. Some drug offense may also be Class A felonies depending in part upon the quantity of the drug involved. Vehicular homicide involving intoxication and rape are examples of Class B felonies while voluntary manslaughter is a Class C felony charge. Some weapons charges and vehicular assault are handled as Class D felonies while statutory rape and the promotion of prostitution are Class E felonies.

If you would like to learn more about different felony charges for drug crimes or other offenses, please visit the criminal charges page of our Tennessee defense website.

State Bar of Georgia
TBA | Tennessee Bar Association
CBA | Chattanooga Bar Association

RSS Feed

FindLaw Network