Our Attorneys
Premier Representation For Criminal Defense And Personal Injury
Home » Drunk Driving » Protecting the freedom of those arrested for second, third DUIs

Protecting the freedom of those arrested for second, third DUIs

Last week, our blog spent some time warning people to be extra vigilant about getting behind the wheel after consuming alcohol during holiday gatherings as law enforcement officials will be out in far greater numbers looking to make DUI arrests in the coming weeks.

In an attempt to drive this point home further — particularly for those with a prior DUI conviction on their record — it may prove beneficial to take a brief look at just a few of the penalties associated with a second and third drunk driving offense here in Tennessee.

Second offense

  • 45 days to one year in jail
  • $600 to $3,500 in fines
  • Two-year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock device

Third offense

  • 120 days to one year in jail
  • $1,100 to $10,000 in fines
  • Six to ten-year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock device

Please understand that our purpose in sharing this information isn’t to shame those with a prior DUI conviction on their record or cause unnecessary fright, but rather to impress the gravity of the situation upon people in these otherwise delicate situations.

However, please know that we also understand that mistakes can happen and that you can still end up in the back of a squad car despite thinking your blood alcohol content was below the legal limit.

At Levitt & Levitt, we are committed to providing clients in these difficult circumstances with a strong defense designed not just to protect their driving privileges and their driving record, but their freedom, their reputation and their future.

To learn more about our experience, skill and team approach in all multiple DUI defense matters, please visit our website.

State Bar of Georgia
TBA | Tennessee Bar Association
CBA | Chattanooga Bar Association
FindLaw Network