Fans of rap sensation Fetty Wap may be interested in knowing that the famous musician blew a .09 percent BAC reading during a traffic stop on Nov. 3. In Tennessee and other states across the nation, the legal limit for operating a motor vehicle is .08 percent.
Tennesseans who know actor Christopher McDonald of "Happy Gilmore" fame might be interested to hear that the actor was recently charged with driving under the influence of alcohol for the second time. According to law enforcement officials with the San Bernadino County Sheriff's Office, the incident happened in California on Oct. 28.
On Aug. 29, it was reported that a Tennessee school crossing guard was struck by a 26-year-old driver. The incident occurred in front of Brighton High School in Brighton at about 7 a.m.
Have you been arrested for and charged with a drunk driving offense in Tennessee? Or, do you know someone who is facing driving under the influence charges? Either way, one thing that can be helpful at a time like this is to know that you are far from the only person in this situation. In fact, statistics show that drunk driving arrests in the state have been on the increase in many counties over the course of a few years.
People who have had interactions with law enforcement officers in Tennessee may have noticed that the officers were wearing and using body cameras to capture video of their interactions and associated events. Anyone who has been charged with a crime should be aware of the state's laws surrounding these cameras and the footage captured by them.
If you are ever stopped by police for even a routine traffic stop and the officer for some reason suspects that you may be under the influence of alcohol, you may be asked a series of questions. You may also be asked to take what are called field sobriety tests. Understanding what these are and what they might show will be important to you at such a time.
Have you ever heard people talk about field sobriety tests in Tennessee and wondered what these really are? When an officer is looking to collect probable cause with which to place a person under arrest for drunk driving, these tests may be administered. There are three types of tests that FieldSobrietyTests.org explain are standardized and approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Tennessee residents who might think that they are doing the right thing by getting a ride home instead of driving themselves after drinking should learn what might happen to them if the driver they ride with has also been drinking. Certainly every situation is unique but one incident that happened recently ended not only with a driver being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol but his three passengers were also arrested.
Do you know someone who has been arrested for and charged with drunk driving in Tennessee? If so, you may want to help that person learn about the different elements of the drunk driving arrest process as he or she assesses the options for a viable defense to the charges faced. As explained by FieldSobrietyTests.org, there are generally three tests that law enforcement officers may administer at the site of a stop before deciding to place a driver under arrest.
No matter how bleak a situation may appear at the outset of a criminal arrest, people in Tennessee should always remember that the criminal justice system allows them the ability to defend themselves against charges made against them. While the outcome of a defense may vary, this is nonetheless a very important right that people may exercise even for drunk driving charges.