Levitt & Levitt Serving Tennessee and Northern Georgia
Free Initial Consultation:
Chattanooga 423-443-4281
Trenton, GA 706-398-9063
Menu Contact
Because Experience Counts Premier Representation For Criminal Defense And Personal Injury

The consequences of a first offense DUI in Tennessee

If you are facing DUI charges for the first time, you are likely worried about the consequences.

Below are three common questions that arise when a person is facing a DUI charge for the first time.

What counts as a first-offense DUI in Tennessee?

Surprisingly, you may be able to qualify for a first-offense DUI even if you have been charged with a DUI in the past. If you have no DUI convictions in the past 10 years, measured from the offense date of the prior DUI conviction to the present DUI arrest date, you will be considered a first time offender. This can possibly lead to more lenient consequences.

Can I go to jail for a first offense DUI?

Even with a first-offense DUI charge you may still face jail time in Tennessee. The maximum sentence is 11 months and 29 days. Generally speaking, the minimum jail time required for a first offense DUI in the state is 48 consecutive hour with a BAC of .20 or above, you will be facing seven consecutive days in jail.

What other consequences can follow for a first-offense DUI conviction?

In addition to potential jail time, you will face several other penalties if you are found guilty. You will have to pay a fine; you will be on supervised or unsupervised probation for the entire 11 months and 29 days. Additionally your license will be suspended for one year. You will also have to attend a DUI class. However, your attorney can help you to obtain a restricted driver’s license.

If you are facing DUI charges and want the best possible outcome, it is vital that you take immediate action and consider your legal options and consult with an attorney before your court date.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

We Are Ready To Help You

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Chattanooga Office
312 Vine Street
Chattanooga, TN 37403

Toll Free: 888-701-5114
Phone: 423-443-4281
Fax: 423-266-8342
Chattanooga Criminal Law Office

Trenton Office
1046 Brow Road
Trenton, GA 30752

Phone: 706-398-9063 - Trent
Fax: 423-266-8342
Trenton Law Office Map